Cardamom Cupcakes with Rose Frosting

On a whim I decided to bake  cupcakes today since it’s my dog’s gotcha day (adoption anniversary) and my birthday will be during the week.

I deliberately substituted some of the sugar in the cupcakes with stevia, since the icing would add a lot more sugar to the treat and I normally avoid sugar.

I ended up substituting some of the flour with brown rice flour, but that was simply because I didn’t have enough cake flour.

I considered using soy milk instead of dairy, but I was using wheat and sugar and the “normal eaters” don’t like soy milk, so I went with the dairy

I was going to bake some cookies for my dog as well, but I used the last of the eggs in the cupcakes… so dog biscuits will have to wait.

The cup cakes turned out to be pretty damn good. They do have a slight greenish hue due to the stevia leaf powder , but they taste amazing.  They go really well with coffee.

The are neither vegan nor gluten-free, but a slightly healthier version of regular cupcakes.  Here’s how I made them today.

 

Cardamom and Rose Cupcakes:

20170219_162411

Yields: 12-16 cupcakes. ( I got 15 cupcakes from this batter)

Ingredients:
1½ cup flour
1 cup brown rice flour
2 Tbsp psyllium husk (added because of the rice flour,  but also lowers GI)
½ tsp  baking powder
½tsp   bicarbonate of soda
½tsp salt
1 tsp ground cardamom
1 cup milk + 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar,  or buttermilk.
1 tsp vanilla essence
½ cup sugar
1 tsp stevia powder
½ cup oil (or butter)
3 extra-large eggs

Method:

  1. Add the ACV to the milk and allow to curdle.
  2. Grease/spray a cup cake pan or line the pan with paper cups.
  3. Preheat oven to 180°C (350° F).  (My oven heats quickly, so I only switch it on before
    pouring the batter into the cups).
  4. Whisk together the dry ingredients.
  5. Stir vanilla into the milk.
  6. With a mixer, mix the sugar, oil and one egg. Add the other eggs one by one. Add stevia and mix until creamy.
  7. Add half the dry ingredients to the sugar/egg/oil mix. Mix well.
    Mix in half the milk.
  8. Mix in the rest of the dry ingredients followed by the rest of the milk.
  9. Pour batter into cups.
  10. Bake in oven for about 14-18 minutes… until pin/knife comes out clean.
  11. Allow to cool before icing.

Frosting:
(I didn’t measure the quantities for the icing, but you can use a normal butter-cream frosting recipe and just add rosewater flavouring)
Sifted icing sugar
room temperature butter
½ tsp vanilla essence
2 tsp rosewater.

  • Whisk  together ingredients with a mixer, creamy and pale with a mixer.
    (I mixed it with a spoon first before, to prevent icing dust spraying everywhere)
  • Smear onto cupcakes with a knife… or use a piping bag to decorate.

 

©lowercase _v 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

