Vegan Cheesy Sauce

I based this sauce on this recipe  from Simple Vegan Blog for vegan cheese.  However the recipe calls for 2 cups of potato. This is a bit starchy for me so I used only one large potato and added about a cup of cauliflower.  This is the first time I’ve made this sauce so the different amounts of vegetable can still be played with, though this batch was pretty good. It doesn’t taste “exactly like cheese”. But it is pretty cheesy and a really tasty sauce or dip.

20170213_134550

INGREDIENTS
Base
1 potatoes, peeled and roughly chopped.
3 medium/large carrots (about a cup), peeled and roughly chopped.
1 cup cauliflower florets (I used frozen
Enough water to boil vegetables.
Flavour:
3 Tbsp – ½ cup olive oil
¼ – ½ cup water
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp lemon juice
½ cup nutritional yeast
½ tsp garlic powder
½ teaspoon onion powder
pinch of cayenne pepper
pinch of paprika

INSTRUCTIONS
Boil the carrots, potato and cauliflower until soft.
Add other ingredients.
Blend (I used a stick blender) until smooth.
I kept the water until I already blended it a bit and added only ¼ cup until I had a nice thick sauce.
You can add more olive oil if you want a richer sauce. 

 

 

©lowercase_v 2017

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

